(Original) Mary Poppins Book Tag

I am a HUGE Mary Poppins fan. I have been for as long as I can remember. So, when feeling a little inspired, I glanced over to my Mary Poppins Funko and this Tag was born. It combines facts for the curious fans and movie elements for the casual fans. Let’s begin!

  1. Mary Poppins’ story was originally a book by P.L. Travers. The author was not comfortable releasing her book into a film. She was afraid they’d change the heart of her story. What book were you afraid to lend to a friend, for fear they wouldn’t like your favorite story? I really want to send Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb to my friends Jody and Michelle, but I’m so afraid they won’t like it. It’ll break my lil heart. Hehe It’s SO good!
  2. P.L. Travers’ book was turned into a movie (Disney’s Mary Poppins, obviously) as well as her personal story of how the film was made (Saving Mr. Banks). Which book would you like to turn into a movie (if it was well done of course)? I would LOVE to see The Raven Boys turned into a movie or a tv series. It doesn’t have to follow books 2-4. I just want to see their daily hijinks and enjoy every second of it. Love you, Noah!
  3. Walt Disney wanted to cast Angela Lansbury as Mary Poppins (before Julie Andrews). What book in a series do you wish you could swap out? (get rid of it or change it in some way) City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. I loved the other books, but CANNOT get into this book. I wanna erase the BLEH going on in it and move on to happiness.
  4. P.L. Travers hated the film when it was done. She wept during the premiere and completely regretted giving up the rights. Name a book that you completely regret ever buying. Kami Garcia’s Beautiful Creatures SERIES. I bought the whole stinkin series, because I loved the first book. Then, it went downhill. Boo Hoo. I’m determined to eventually FORCE myself to read them, because they can’t go to waste.
  5. The song a “Spoonful of Sugar” was written about the polio vaccine. What book had you so on edge, but in the end, it was absolutely sweet? I have quite a few options here, but I’m going to go with Winter by Marissa Meyer. I loved the beginning and kinda loathed the middle. I felt it dragged and there were unnecessary points where she just repeated stuff. No thanks. Then, the ending warmed my heart and I loved it. So in the end, it became sweet.
  6. Mrs. Banks was fighting for a woman’s right to vote! Name a book you read that fights for a cause. First of all, I am very guilty of NOT reading many books that feature #ownvoices or diverse lead characters. It’s something I plan on changing in the future and I may be doing a post about it soon enough. For now, I choose Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I would LOVE to gush about WHY I chose this book, but if I do…crazy spoilers. So, if you’ve read it, DM me! If not, please pick it up and see why the ending moved me so very deeply.
  7. Mary Poppins flies in under a black umbrella. Name a book you wanna throw out the window. Hehe Debbie Mason’s Mistletoe Cottage…HIIIII YAAAA!! (that’s a karate chop that I can’t perform correctly) I LOOOATHE this book premise. I loathe the fact that I spent money I didn’t have on a book with an annoying premise. Here’s what happened, I love her Christmas, Colorado books. They are sugary sweet with a bit of sass. Love em! So of course, I snatch up her latest book as soon as it’s released. Big mistake. The back of the book talks about secrets, blah blah sounds good. Open it up to page 1, it’s a woman who had a baby, took off and DIDN’T TELL THE FATHER SHE WAS PREGNANT! UGH! Then she’s shocked when crap hits the fan. Ugh. No thanks. So disappointed. DNF!
  8. Practically Perfect In Every Way. Which book did you feel was pure perfection? Well, the obvious answer is The Raven Boys. I adored that book so very much. I also thought Cinder was incredible and I couldn’t read it fast enough. Honestly, I cant think of anything bad to say about Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice either. Her writing is such perfection. I’ve never read anything like it. Patrick Rothfuss is wonderful, but after reading Robin Hobb….even he doesn’t compare. It’s special. Oh! Ready Player One…perfection!
  9. Mary’s bottomless bag could carry anything. Name a book that had many pages, but surprisingly went by very quickly. This is a challenge for me, because I get distracted very easily. Long books usually require a break of some sort. I can say that Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning has 608 pages and I didn’t even notice. I adore that series!
  10. Only Mary could jump right into a beautifully drawn chalk drawing. If you could jump inside one of your favorite books AND manipulate it to your liking, which book would you choose? This one gets tricky, because most worlds I read about have crazy freaky things going on. I don’t exactly want to be a part of that drama. Lol That said, I’d love to live inside the Fablehaven world by Brandon Mull. I’d love to be caretaker to those cool and imaginative creatures. So fun!
  11. Dick Van Dyke really wanted to play the role of Mr. Dawes the villainous bank president and did. Which book(s) in your collection did you probably spend the most money on? Well, I don’t own any special editions or signed books. I do however have a rather large collection of Robin Hobb books now. I bought them all at once and therefore….they would probably be the priciest books I own.
  12. Mary has the most magical powers. Have you read a book with an incredible magic system? I’ve read many books with incredible magic systems! My favorite form of book magic is probably from Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. I love that characters can literally read things into existence. Glorious!
  13. Bert’s Uncle Albert laughs so hard that he floats to the ceiling. Name a book that made you laugh almost as hard. I love a bit of humor in my books. Sophie Kinsella does this rather well. It’s not predictable and it’s cleverly done. I always giggle…out loud. hehe
  14. Mr. Banks spends most of the movie not paying attention to his lovely children. Do you have a book that’s been sitting on your shelf for ages and you haven’t paid it any attention? Hehehe Ohhhh the amount of books sitting on my shelves that I swear I’ll read….”eventually.” LMAO! Don’t we all do this? I think my number 1 priority in this department is the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I got to City of the Lost Souls and got….bored/frustrated (as mentioned above). I adored this series and just blew through books 1-3. I wish that I could get the courage to pick up this book again and keep going. I still don’t own the Infernal Devices books and I really wanna read those. It’s something I just have to suck it up and do!…….eventually lol
  15. In the end, Mary gives the children exactly what they wanted, but not in the way they expected. What book threw you for a loop and still gave you immense satisfaction? I just want to say that I added this question, because I obsess over these kinds of books. You are so SURE that the book is taking you in one direction (not the band lmao) and it goes in completely the opposite direction. I love to be caught off guard and forced to turn pages. It’s perfection! That said, I want book recommendations. So please let me know if you do this Tag! PLEASE! Anyway, my answer is….The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. If you know me, you shoulda seen that coming!!! Hehe The first book starts off with Mac in her own pretty pink world. She’s superficial and honestly…nothing special. Then Moning starts to give you clues to the mystery (there’s an epic mystery). As a reader, you guess at what could have happened to Mac’s sister. You think you know, you DON’T know! Things get creepy, sexy, and Ooo Ooo Barrons. Just when you get answers….SHE GIVES YOU MORE QUESTIONS! NOoooooo…YESSSSSSS! I couldn’t stop turning pages. I couldn’t get enough. I was lost for days when the series was completed. It was NOTHING I expected (just looking for a cool Fae story…) and beyond everything I could dream up. LOVE this series (especially 1-5)

This is my Mary Poppins Tag. Please feel free to try it! If you are a Poppins fan, you are tagged! Until next time!

Leave a comment