The Kind Worth Killing Book Review

This is a book review for The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson 🙂

This was a birthday gift and I chose to read it for @OurLostLibrary, my Goodreads Group.

TRIGGER WARNINGS for Possible Rape and Inappropriate Interactions with a child. I can’t really give away much more than that without tiny spoilers. If you would like to know more, message me privately. While I thought the scenes were disgusting and dark, it didn’t happen the way that I thought it was going to. Suffice it to say, the character has “issues” and this back story would help you understand why.

The plot twists were incredibly well done. Going into a book like this and being a mystery reader for many years, I had a few guesses as to how this could all go down. Ladies and Gents, I tip my hat to Peter Swanson. He got me good! Things unfolded quickly and suddenly I’m grasping at previously given info going “OMG!!” It was fabulous!

There are two POVs in this book. They alternate chapters. Normally, I am not a huge fan of jumping from one character to the next. I have read books where both characters’ voices sounded the same. Then you struggle to ascertain who is speaking and get back into their head. It’s not always my thing. THIS however, was brilliantly done. I could easily determine who was speaking and (the icing on the cake) I was EQUALLY interested in both characters! When does that ever happen? Usually one side is much more interesting than the other, but this author did an incredible job.

Our characters are Ted and Lily. I don’t want to get into too much detail, because the story is a ride worth taking. If I give too many facts, it takes away from the excitement. Basically, Ted is the man who wants to kill his wife. Lily is a riddle that you will have to solve. It’s brilliant!

Given the subject matter, there are obviously darker moments in this book. If crude language or subject matter is not your thing, you may want to shy away. I did not find the overall book to be crude in nature, but it has its moments sprinkled throughout. It sets a tone. It has a purpose. I never felt like, “Oh that wasn’t necessary.” I just wanted to give you a heads up!

 

Overall, I was very impressed with this book. It’s the kind of book to get you out of a slump. It entertaining and completely gripping. You have to know what happens next and keep getting surprised at every turn. The ending was amazing and not at all what I expected going into this book. This is 5 star read and I highly recommend it!

2 thoughts on “The Kind Worth Killing Book Review

  1. This review makes me happy!! I really hope I love this book as much as you did. Alternating POVs are actually something I’m really into, so that’s making me even more excited about diving into it when I get my hands on a copy. Or, er. Digital audiobook. That’s what I put on hold through Overdrive. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

