Monthly Recs: Auto Read Authors

 

I am so excited to participate in this month’s Monthly Recs, created by Trina at Between Chapters and Kayla Rayne at Kayla Rayne. I have been away from my blog and this community for quite awhile and I’m excited to come back!

 

I actually found this topic much harder than I expected! As it turns out, I’ve changed my reading habits  quite a bit! I’ve been trying to read new and keep up with the trend. I’ve been burned by this strategy and so my outlook has kind of changed.

Middle Grade:

Brandon Mull is still and always will be an Auto Buy Author. When I need a fun middle grade book, I turn to him. I loved Fablehaven so very much. The entire series was so magical and the main characters are just so realistic. I felt like I was working on a magical preserve and I never wanted to leave (even when bad things happened lol)

Rick Riordan and I have a strange relationship. While I think his humor is very “Older Dad Trying Sooo Hard To Be Young And Cool,” I still love his books. I loved Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I am currently in the middle of the Heroes of Olympus series and I can’t wait to get back to them. I am eager to read all of his other books. They are full of adventure and really help you escape reality when you need too.

YA:

Beth Revis has become a new favorite author. I loved the Across the Universe series. I can’t recommend it to you enough! If you love a great Space Adventure, this is it!! It’s not full of too many Sci-Fi terms that you can’t understand. It’s a very easy read and it really keeps the pages turning. I am very eager to read The Body Electric (it’s on my shelf!)

Marissa Meyer is definitely a new Auto Buy Author. Although, some of her books could have been edited down just a bit, I still loved The Lunar Chronicles. I also highly recommend Wires and Nerve. I’m not usually a graphic novel fan, but I really enjoyed Iko’s story. I will more than likely pick up Volume 2.

Adult:

Victoria Laurie is my new favorite cozy mystery writer. I am in the middle of her Ghost Hunter Series and it’s wonderful. I love the paranormal aspect to her books. The mysteries are solid. The characters are wonderful and diverse. I think it’s a great series for anyone who enjoys paranormal OR a good mystery. I am eager to pick up her Psychic Eye books as well.

Robin Hobb is incredible. I am so glad I was recommended this author and even though I’ve only read her first book (lol), I still highly recommend her. Her writing is absolutely beautiful. I’m not one for long descriptions and yet Robin Hobb could go on for pages and I wouldn’t get bored. Her first book in the Elderlings series is called Assassin’s Apprentice. It’s about a young boy growing up in a castle. There are lots of eventful things that happen to him, but this book isn’t filled with massive twists and turns. Yet, I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t stop thinking about Fitz. I adored this character (and others). It’s remarkable to me. If you know me, you’d know how big a deal this is. I get bored quite easily. If you haven’t checked her out, run to library and grab this book!

Leave a Reply

