My 1 Year Bookish Anniversary

Hi Everyone!!! So I’m very happy to announce my ONE YEAR BOOKISH ANNIVERSARY!!! It was one year today that I made my official Goodreads acct, started by Booktube Channel and joined Twitter! What a fabulous and amazing year it has been. Boy, does the time FLY!

I’ve seen some excellent Anniversary Booktube videos and I know I can’t compete with that. Hehe I also can’t afford some of the giveaways that bloggers and booktubers do. So, I’ve decided to focus on how the Bookish Community has changed my life. This is my THANK YOU to you!

I’ve always been a reader. I’ve never been a fast paced reader though. Some of you blow me away with your HUGE weekly numbers. I’m more of a casual reader. I pick up a book when I feel like it and slowly make my way through. Booktube has made me wanna pick up the pace and I have suffered quite a few bouts of burnout. So, I’ve learned to reign myself in. lol It has all been for the best though! Down below I’m going to list some Booktubers who have changed my life for the better. I’m also going to list the book or books that they recommended to me and how they impacted my reading. Let’s begin!!!

So, I joined Booktube because of Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. She had so many intelligent and thoughtful things to say about books I had read and books I wanted to read. I respected her. When I discovered her “How To” video, I realized that I to could join the bookish community. I didn’t have many friends who were avid readers and now I could have hundreds! Thanks to Sam’s wise words and patient explanations, I threw my hat into the ring! (I did have to stop due to computer/loading errors, but Sam inspired me and I wouldn’t have the friends I have now without her kind words). She even mentioned me in a video and I can’t even begin to explain how happy that made me. No one else had recognized me like that and I was floored for days.

The Book: Sam recommended Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I just HAD to have this book. I ran out and picked it up asap and loved every single second of it. It was touching and the message in the end made my heart swell. It’s a beautiful story and without Sam, I wouldn’t have picked it up because the reviews were so mixed. Thank Goodness I trusted her.

Michelle from Michellislife was my first true booktube friend. I’ll never forget the time she commented on my video and told me that her lil girl was loving my book reading. My heart just BURST. I was new to booktube. I was a little unsure of myself. To finally get recognition that someone, even a little cutie pie, was loving my video…priceless. I still have the picture she sent me. My heart beats a little faster every time I see it. I did it!!! Michelle has become a dear friend. She’s there for me through thick and thin. I don’t know what I would do without her. We have buddy read (one of the BEST reading experiences of my life. Go Raven Moms!!) and we have shared triumphs and failures. She’s the best friend a person could ask for. Also, she’s a Damn Fine Booktuber!! Check her out!

The Book: Without a doubt, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. She really encouraged me to pick up this book. It was BEYOND my wildest expectations! To make it even BETTER, we buddy read it. It was her second read through and my first. I think I DM’d her like crazy! Lol I was SO EXCITED! Then we read the whole series (with other amazing people for her and Jody’s ReadALong) and read the last book as a group. Best experience ever!

Marines from mynameismarines was my first fun twitter convo. At least, it’s the first one I can remember. She had a paper to work on and somehow we were discussing an Emoji Paper. LOL! You had to be there. It was so funny and I thought…”Wow! This bookish community really IS the BEST!” I love Marines quick wit and sassy words when she critiques a book. Honesty is key. Marines was also the first person to include me in a group video! That was very exciting. I was so glad to be included and also very excited to see myself mixed in with such esteemed booktubers. Overall, I will never forget her welcoming nature and my first big twitter laugh.

The Book: Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Sadly, this is still on my TBR pile…along with many, many other books. I fully intend to read it though, because Marines liked it!

Jody from thatonegirlwhoreads.wordpress.com ohhh I don’t even know what to say about Jody. (too many good thoughts) Jody is friends with Michelle and she helped host the Raven Cycle ReadALong. Through that (my FIRST successful readalong!!!) I met Jody. She’s absolutely amazing. She reads the same kinds of books that I do. She likes the creepy, paranormal reads. YAAY! She’s sweet and honest. She’s straight to the point and the most thoughtful freakin person you will ever meet. She’s become a dear friend and I don’t know what life would be like now without her. Check out her blog! She has great thoughts and I love her reviews.

The Book: As a gift, Jody sent me What’s a Ghoul To Do? by Victoria Laurie. OMG I LOVE this book! I need the entire series IMMEDIATELY! It’s a tiny bit creepy, it’s paranormal fun…so funny…the mystery isn’t predictable…omg. GUSH!

Samantha from Sam’s Nonsense, how I can NOT talk about her?! She is such an amazing inspiration. She’s witty and poised. She’s so articulate and extremely intelligent. She has excellent thoughts when reviewing a book. It’s hard for me to describe…she’s very unique in the best way possible.  She can break down a book so thoughtfully and make you clearly understand every point she is making. It’s an art. She’s clear and concise. Yet, at the same time…she’s your best friend and you are just having a chat about a recent purchase. Does that make sense? She’s just so darn relatable and yet I feel like her videos are something we all aspire to achieve.  You want to be THAT good. You want to be THAT funny or get your message across THAT well. I’m just in awe of her and darn it if she isn’t the sweetest person! She’s always been so kind to me. She even became a Guest on my blog…lil ole me! She had the kindest words to say about me and it really made my day!

The Book: Well, if this one isn’t blatantly obvious, you don’t know me too well lol The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. ALL things ROBIN HOBB would be a better answer! Lol I am now completely addicted and own all of her Elderling books! You see, I’m a gamer (thanks to hubby) and I love fantasy worlds. I’ve always struggled with high fantasy books though. I was very unsure of Robin Hobb, in fact I thought Robin was a guy. Oops! So embarrassing. I knew that the books sounded very interesting, but was afraid the text would be too heavy for me. Sam said that even beginners could read these books. She was absolutely correct. I ADORED the first book. I ADORE the characters. The funniest part is, there’s no intense mystery to keep pulling me through and yet I never wanted to leave Fitz. Even now, I miss him. Robin Hobb is incredible. If you are like I was, pick it up!

Kristin from WhatsKappening is another wonderful human being! I love her videos! I miss her videos when they aren’t there. She’s funny and really smart. If she doesn’t like a book, she tells you exactly why. It’s fantastic. Her thoughts usually align with mine. So, when she recommends a book or dislikes a book, I know to pick it up or steer clear. She gives excellent reasons for liking or disliking. I really appreciate that. I have found a few booktubers who just don’t explain their choices all that well. Kristin does an amazing job. She’s also straight to the point. I can blow through her videos quickly (also a wonderful thing on a busy day!) She’s so kind and fun to talk to. When she’s not on Twitter or I’m not on twitter, I miss chatting with her. She was also a guest on my blog and I can’t thank her enough for doing that for me! It was so fun!

The Book: Well, it may sound sappy, but she’s helped me with so many books that I can’t choose. She’s talked me off a ledge when it comes to some books that weren’t so great. Thank goodness because once she gave her reasons I thought…omg I would have HATED that book. She’s also talked about some great books that I adore! Lunar Chronicles being one of them! I honestly have a long list of Kristin recs!

So those are my “First Experiences” bookish people. I can’t even begin to list all of the wonderful people who have shaped me and molded me over the past year. If you think you should be on this list…you probably SHOULD be!! Consider yourself added! You have all touched my heart and I can’t thank you enough! Thank you for your kind words. Your support and advice mean the world to me. Your “Likes” and “Follows” put a smile on my face. This is my ME place. Not a mommy place…Not a wife place…just plain old me space. Thank you for your acceptance and friendship. I hope to continue for years to come. Once again, thank you all!

2 thoughts on “My 1 Year Bookish Anniversary

  1. It really has been a great year. I miss your reading videos 😔
    I’m so glad we became friends and I’m so glad you enjoyed The Raven Cycle. I don’t know what I would have done without you this past year. You always motivate me to keep going whenever I want to quit. You’ve gotten me through some really tough times and I and so appreciative to have you in my corner. You’re an amazing mommy, friend and blogger. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

