August Monthly Recs: 1 yr Anniversary!

I wanna start off by saying Congratulations to Kayla from Kayla Rayne (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4ZhMXJLeoGqIQi1SlR07rg) and Trina from Between Chapters (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5sNXtE1-m-Sipo1tDnvQQw) They’ve been hosting Monthly Recs for a year now!! I am including links you can copy and paste. My computer hasn’t been letting me embed links lately! Ugh!!

This month, the ladies are asking us to do 1 book from each topic. I found this to be really exciting and couldn’t wait to participate!! Here’s the Goodreads link! https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/18171127-august-1-year-celebration

And away we goooooo!!!!

-An underrated book: Any book by Laurien Berenson. I love her doggy mysteries and I don’t think she has enough attention put onto her books. Maybe it’s not everyone’s thing, I get that. I just wish she had more media attention on her fabulous books. She deserves it.
-A book set in school: Uh…The Raven Boys involved School…can that count? I’m counting it! 😉
-A creepy book: I have two because anyone who read “YOU” by Caroline Kepnes will name this book. I’m still afraid of social media!  My second pick would be A Door To December by Dean Koontz. This was back when his books weren’t full of fillers and…bleh. Great book! I want to reread it!
-A trilogy: I was shocked to discover, I don’t read too many trilogies. They are all stand-alones or long running series. So, for that reason I’m going with the Inkheart series. They were amazing books. I mean, for a booklover to read about getting pulled into a book, c’mon…LOVE it!!!
-A book you think others should read ASAP/before the end of the year: The Raven Cycle (to completion) because why not? The Lunar Chronicles. If you haven’t read them, please read them! Don’t wait another second! Lastly, Feverborn by Karen Marie Moning. Her new book will be out early next year and you have to be caught up!!!
-A fantasy book: This is all I’ve been reading, so this is so difficult! I’m going with the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I will love and cherish all of these forever!
-A book with little to no romance: Uprooted by Naomi Novik. There’s some beautiful elements to this story, but no focus on a romance per say. You just dream about it. hehe
-A standalone:  My favorite is “Remember Me?” by Sophie Kinsella. She has plenty of standalone’s and they are all amazing! They are quick and lighthearted reads. They come with plenty of giggles and even laugh out loud & hope no one heard you moments! lol Remember Me has a plot that you think would be predictable, and it kind of is, but there’s some great twists. It also has some very memorable characters!
-Your favorite survival story: I struggled with this one on the month it was posted. I really enjoy my lighthearted fantasies. This is a stretch, but the Fablehaven Series by Brandon Mull. Those kids go through some scary/crazy stuff and they need to stop all heck from breaking loose. Of course, Harry Potter and Percy Jackson also qualify!
-Your favorite book friendship: I have two! “Blue’s Boys” from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater and the Six of Crows crew by Leigh Bardugo. I do have to mention the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and the friendships mentioned in all of those books. Simply wonderful! Ok, and Agnieszka and Kasia from Uprooted. A wonderful female friendship that knows no bounds. Did I mention Harry Potter? That’s a given, right?
-A book set outside of the US, or that features travel/vacation: Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella. It’s a silly story about a girl who jumps from just rebounding with a guy into now wanting to marry the guy. It’s quirky, silly and fun! It’s a destination wedding and it’s gonna be interesting!
-A book with your favorite empowering female character: I’m having a hard time narrowing this down. Soooo lemme list them!!! Blue from The Raven Cycle. She’s truly unique and strong like her mother. Cinder from Lunar Chronicles is kick ass and she’s put through A LOT. Agnieszka from Uprooted is pulled away from her family and all she knows. She’s thrown in this tower with a grumpy “dragon”. She’s strong and shows more courage than ever expected. Mac from the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. She’s this pretty pink girly girl until all hell breaks loose and she’s gotta get answers/save the damn world! Badass! Sookie Stackhouse from Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse series. She gets herself in some serious messes but she will kick some major ass getting out of them. Stephanie Plum from Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. She’s real and likeable. Even though she gets herself in these crazy freakin predicaments, she will get her man in the end! Lastly, Vin from Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. I haven’t even finished the book, but I know I’m gonna love her! I really should have participated during this topic…I had no idea how much I love an empowering female! lol

That’s all folks! Thanks again to Kayla and Trina!

Leave a Reply

