July 2016 Monthly Recs

So, I was challenged awhile back, by my friend Michelle (Michellislife) to do one of these. So, while I struggle for new and exciting content…here I am!

I don’t think I have much to offer you, but I’m sure gonna try! Also, I still have no idea how to include pics onto my posts…so yeah…there’s that…aren’t you excited?!?!? LOL!

So, this month I have been reading the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. If you somehow haven’t read this series yet, it’s amazing! Think…fairytales…space…and then just grab the books because the premise sounds weird. I am currently reading Winter. I loved Cinder, liked Scarlet and loved Cress. I don’t have Stars Above yet, but I’m working on it. I’d love to do reviews for these books, but honestly…everyone’s done a review of these. So, I think I’ll just leave it to them. I can say that I get bored/distracted easily when I read. It takes a lot for me to block the world out and only focus on a book. I will go days without picking up a book I actually LIKE. So, that said, I couldn’t put Cinder down. I blew through the book. It’s non-stop and so engaging. The characters are phenomenal. The plot grabs ahold of you and takes you through every emotion. Wonderful books!

I am eager to read The Body Electric by Beth Revis. My fabulous friend Michelle did an interview with Beth Revis and it was so cool! She’s so down to earth and relatable. I loved everything she talked about and couldn’t wait to read ALL of her books. Michelle raves about her on her channel Michellislife. So, I’m dying to read The Body Electric and then obtain Across the Universe.

This month, I was fortunate enough to get a gift card…So I got music!! Top songs on my playlist are “Circles” by machineheart ft Vanic, “Close” by Nick Jonas, “H.O.L.Y.” by Florida Georgia Line, “My House” by Flo Rida, “Colors” by Halsey, “The Sound of Silence” by Disturbed, and “Cut The Cord” & “How Did You Love” by Shinedown. That’s my music!

TV: I’m addicted to UnREAL and My Crazy Ex. I also enjoy Food Network Star…cuz I love to cook. If you haven’t watched these shows, check them out! Great binge worthy junk food tv! Lastly, I’ve been binging on House with Hugh Laurie. I enjoyed it back when it was on tv and now they air reruns. I forgot how much fun that show was…soo I’ve gotten sucked in.

I can’t think of anything else that’s new or relevant, so I guess that’s my cue to go!

 

 

4 thoughts on “July 2016 Monthly Recs

  1. Oh so this is more of a monthly favorites post. The monthly recommendations is a group on goodreads (like top five Wednesday) where they haves certain topics for each month.

    Great favs. I’m glad you had a lot of enjoyable experiences this month with music and books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE the Lunar Chronicles! I’m still only partway through Winter – I had to take a break because the audiobook went back to the library and I’m waiting on my turn again. The narrator for this series is awesome so I’m choosing just to wait for it instead of checking it out physically.

    Like

    1. Ohhh thats very cool! I’ve never tried an audiobook, I love the feel of a book in my hands, but Im glad u enjoy this one! So far Im on pg335 and loving it. This is one of the longest books Ive read…Usually, I take a break about now but we shall see!

      Like

Leave a Reply

