The Way You Make Me Feel…

I don’t know about you, but I choose my current reads based on how I feel. If I’m stressed out or overwhelmed, I’ll choose a lighter and easier read. If I need an escape & wanna get lost inside a book, I’ll go fantasy. So I’ve decided to write this blog post about feelings! These are some recommendations based on how I was feeling and what I chose to read. Ready, Set, GO!

If you are feeling lazy and want a quick read: Sophie Kinsella’s “Remember Me?”, “Twenties Girl” or “The Undomestic Goddess” happen to be some great choices. They have great characters and so many laugh out loud moments. Chick Lit is great for PMS, a Summer Read, My Spouse/BF/GF/Partner Sucks Right Now, and a quick break from long running series.

You want Spooky: Read Caroline Kepnes’ “You”. It’ll freak you out…possibly permanently lol Stalkers…Scary!! Already read it? Try “The Door To December” or “Fear Nothing” by Dean Koontz. These are some of his earlier works….when his books were incredible! I may consider doing a full post about his earlier works, so I’ll leave this brief. I’m also going to be doing a review of The Door To December after I reread it. It was always a favorite! Stay Tuned! 😉

Miss your best friend and are seeking A Strong Female Relationship: Try “The Right Thing” by Amy Conner. These contemporary, realistic books aren’t usually my thing. I stumbled onto this book because I was looking for a quick change from the normal mystery or fantasy reads. It’s a story about two young girls from different sides of the tracks, if you will. They become best friends and then one day…the one friend is gone. Years later, she returns and she needs help. It’s a beautiful and very realistic story of female relationships/friendships. I quite enjoyed it!

Happy or just need a small pick me up? What about Magical Realism: It isn’t for everyone, but if you’re going to try it out I recommend “The Peach Keeper” by Sarah Addison Allen. This does have some mixed reviews, but I quite enjoyed it. It’s a quick read and the magical realism is done in such a way that I wasn’t bothered by it. Sometimes magical realism leaves you going..WTF?? This book kinda tied things up but along the way…magical things lead you forward. It’s hard to explain without spoilers, but it was fun.

Need to kick ass and love fantasy elements: You need to read The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. Although the series doesn’t start off this way, Mac is a badass and Barron’s is a sexy, sexy man. These books are mentioned a lil too often on my blog, so I’ll spare you ANOTHER gush….just read them! Hehe

Feeling Compassionate and seeking a Diverse Read? Try “Pigs in Heaven” by Barbara Kingsolver. There is a “prequel” of sorts to this book, it’s called “The Bean Trees”. I haven’t finished The Bean Trees just yet, so for this post…I’ll just stick with Pigs in Heaven. You do NOT need to read Bean Trees before Pigs in Heaven. Both books revolve around a young woman who leaves home and suddenly becomes a mother to a young Native American girl named Turtle. The Bean Trees focus’ on Taylor becoming an insta mom and Pigs In Heaven discusses life years later. In Pigs in Heaven, Turtle witnesses a freak accident and her/Taylors’ life suddenly changes. It’s a heart wrenching and beautiful story about family and the Cherokee Nation. I can’t wait to reread and will do a full review!

Lastly, I have to include a fantasy read. If you want/need an escape: ….Well….I’ve recommended all of my Fantasy books…and often. So here’s some top choices.

Do you like Middle Grade? Try Fablehaven by Brandon Mull. I bought this as a gift for a middle grade reader and previewed it’s contents. I couldn’t get enough and polished off the whole series! I strongly recommend them! (4 books total)

Do you like High Fantasy? The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss surprised me. I went into this book eager to find out about the paranormal element I read about. That element wasn’t as strong, but the story gripped me. The writing was impeccable. It takes a lot to keep me interested and he did it!

Fairytale Fan? The Lunar Chronicles are beyond anything I ever imagined. I had them on my list for years and never made them a priority. That was a BIG mistake. Don’t wait another second, grab those books and gobble them up! I’m in love!

So, I leave you with these choices for now. If you liked this post, please leave me a comment or Tweet me! If you enjoy these, I’ll keep doing them! I’ve wrangled up some wonderful “guests”  to write up their emotional recommendations as well! If you’d like to be a Guest, please let me know! I will send you emotions/moods/etc and you can name a book you would read. Right now, I’m thinking 1 post a month. (I’m also considering…if you are a Guest…we can post your answers on BOTH of our channel/blogs. That way we both get the views! Just an idea! Keep me posted everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “The Way You Make Me Feel…

  1. Honestly, Im not sure. There always comes a time where I wanna watch a spooky movie or read a creepy book. Its not a “all the time” thing. Its occasional. It may be when Im searchin for something different and want my heart to start pumping. These are more scenerios than emotions but its how Im feeling at the time😜 I need a spooky book. I need a fantasy book. ☺️

    Like

Leave a Reply

