T5W: Books I’m Intimidated By

Top 5 Wednesday was created by the lovely Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is now headed up by one of my fave booktubers, Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. You can participate too! Here’s the link to the Goodreads Page!

So, when I was thinking about this topic, I thought about REASONS why I’m intimidated by certain books and once I did that….the books just popped.

Reason One: Hyped Books! What if a book is so hyped and sounds SO good…that you pick it up right away. Then, when the hype dies down and you actually pick it up…it’s NOT good??? Ugh!!! My pick: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I picked this book up when the hype was at it’s peak and since then a great friend didn’t like it. Uh oh!! Now I’m so spooked to pick it up. What if I don’t like it and regret my purchase?? 😦

Reason Two: The next book in a beloved series. You know how you read book one and fall madly in love. So halfway through you snatch up the rest of the series?? Ook, maybe only I do that! hehe I have quite a few books under this umbrella and I’m intimidated because…what if they aren’t as good as the first book? What if they let me down? What if something bad happens in….Pick Two: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. It’s preordered. I’m almost done Blue Lily, Lily Blue and if the last book disappoints…I’ll cry for days!

Reason Three: It’s a Classic. I love watching Classics be made into movies lol I just have struggles READING them. They are worded in old English or written like Shakespeare. You know the language is beautiful…but you can’t understand a freakin word of it! lol I have Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I just bought this AMAZING edition of it (The Word Cloud edition *GUSH*!). I want to buy the rest of the collection…Can I count an entire collection as Book 3?? I think I just did. If not, I haven’t read Secret Garden yet and I hope it’s everything I remember, cuz I only watched the movie. teehee

Reason Four: The book is extremely long OR the series is extremely long! Pick Four is Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. It’s amazing. I started it, but I put it down in order to do a ReadAlong. I haven’t picked it up again, though I intend too. It’s just SO long and so are the rest of the books. I’ll get there! I know it’s worth it, but it’s long.

Pick 5 is The Mortal Instruments Series. I’ve read books 1-5 (Well, I’m halfway through 5). Yet, I know when I finish….there’s a whole other series to read!!! It took me this long to get to book 5! Ugh. I know I have to finish AND read the others because I need to know how it all goes down. It’s just…intimidating 🙂

10 thoughts on “T5W: Books I’m Intimidated By

  1. I’m reading The Secret Garden right now and it is pretty close to what I remember of the Hallmark movie. I am only taking it in small chunks as I think that’s all I can manage when reading Classics. It has been little difficult for me to comprehend the conversations when it’s written in an accent, but other than that, I’m really enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picks. I love how you broke them all down into intimidating categories.
    I like when people add pictures to their blog posts. It makes it more visually entertaining. We’ll have to figure out how Jody does it.
    You’ll never know if you like the book until you read it. Might be time to pick up Passenger and give it a whirl. I agree that it is scary when a friend or trusted opinion doesn’t like a book.
    Mistborn is huge. The second book is over 700 pages. I’m currently reading it and I haven’t made a dent yet.
    I’m glad you posted for this topic. It was such a great topic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My opinion on Passenger is definitely in the minority, you might like it… I like books all the time that other people don’t, it’s probably me lol. I’m afraid of classics too, I read The Time Machine by H.G. Wells and I had such a hard time following the story because of the English they wrote in back then… But I own a bunch of them so I should probably read some of them 😳
    I wish I could help with the photos, but I write on the app and there is this little button I click when I’m writing that lets me add an image… I have no idea how to do it on the computer 😩

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

